Spook on Phantom

The Spook of the Thirteenth Lock will appear on Phantom FM‘s Access All Areas show on Thursday morning from 11am. Listen at 105.2 FM or online. The band plays the Roisin Dubh, Galway tomorrow and The Boom Boom Room, Dublin on Friday for the album launch. On Saturday (April 19th), they will play an acoustic set at Road Records in Dublin, check the Road site for times.


The new LITE album “Phantasia” will be released on June 23rd on CD and vinyl LP. The track listing is:

1. Ef
2. Contra
3. Infinite Mirror
4. Shinkai
5. Black and White
6. Interlude
7. Ghost Dance
8. Solitude
9. Phantasia
10. Fade
11. Sequel to the Letter

More Spook

Spook 20080418 Lg

The Spook of the Thirteenth Lock will be joined by Mumblin’ Deaf Ro and Fairlights for their album launch at The Boom Boom Room in Dublin next week. Admission is €10 and includes a copy of the new album, doors are at 9pm.

The band’s Belfast gig is now on May 30th at Lavery’s Bunker. They have unfortunately had to pull out of their Tralee gig but that will be rescheduled soon.

The opening song from the album, “The Hare” is now streaming from the mp3 page.

Spook gigs, LITE album

The Spook of the Thirteenth Lock have announced some Irish dates ahead of their imminent debut album. The CD will be for sale at the April gigs. Expect more dates to be announced. Allen from The Spook will also appear on An Uair Draíochta radio show, Radio Na Life 106.4FM on April 13th at 8pm.

20 Mar – The Lower Deck, Dublin
17 Apr – Roisin Dubh, Galway
18 Apr – The Boom Boom Room, Dublin
24 Apr – Club Head Bang Bang, Tralee
2 May – Lavery’s Bunker, Belfast

LITE‘s new album will be released in June. Recorded and mixed in Tokyo last month, the album features eleven tracks including a reworked version of “Ef”. The band will be touring Europe in October. Some clips from the recent Japan tour with Mike Watt’s Brother’s Sister’s Daughter:

Brother’s Sister’s Daughter & LITE performing Funanori’s “Lazy & Crazy” (Kyoto):

LITE performing “Ef” (Nagoya):

Read Watt’s tour diary.

Photo below of Brother’s Sister’s Daughter and LITE taken following final gig of the tour at Marz in Shinjuku, Tokyo. From left: Back: Hirotaka Shimizu, Samm Bennett, Kramer, Kozo, Nobuyuki, Watt, Yuko Araki; Front: Akinori, Jun.

Photo below from Tokuzo, Nagoya.

In Country Dark


The first song from the forthcoming album by The Spook of the Thirteenth Lock is now available to stream from the media page. Titled “In Country Dark”, the song was produced by Enda Bates and The Spook and mastered by JJ Golden at Golden Mastering in California. The album will be released on May 6th. Track listing for the album is as follows:

1. The Hare
2. In Country Dark
3. The Partisan
4. Christchurch, 6 Bells
5. The Lord’s Prayer
6. The Spook
7. Canal Lock Blues
8. Down Comes The Bridge
9. Pimlico
10. The Ragged Rock

LITE + Brother's Sister's Daughter Japan Tour

LITE are currently on a nationwide Japan tour with Brother’s Sister’s Daughter, a new improv unit put together by Mike Watt and Kramer (Bongwater, Ween, Butthole Surfers, Shimmy Disc et al) with drum duties being split between Samm Bennett and Yuko Araki (Migu, Cornelius).

The first date on Friday saw them joined by jazz drumming legend Han Bennink while they will also share the stage with Seiichi Yamamoto (Boredoms, ROVO) in Osaka. Other nights feature Z and 54-71.

Together, LITE and BSD will play a Funanori song from “A Tiny Twofer” each night!

Meanwhile, LITE have just put the finishing touches to their second full-length album, recorded with Toe’s Takaaki Mino as engineer. More news soon.

Also check out Z’s Myspace page which features a new live recording!

The Arm are currently working on their debut full-length album.

Bsd All Japan

LITE –"Tomorrow" video

“A Tiny Twofer” is now available in the shop as is LITE’s limited edition “Live in Limerick” EP. Also added are t-shirts from their recent Filmlets tour.

Live clip of LITE performing “Ef” and “Tomorrow” in Galway last month:

Promo video for “Tomorrow”: